About the festival

The Festival is a non-profit making company, limited by guarantee and is a registered charity.

As a charity, our objects include:

  •   to advance the education and skills of adult choral singers; 
  •   to advance the choral education of young people in Cornwall;
  •   to encourage and develop the music skills of composers of all ages;
  •   to advance and develop the choral skills of conductors; 
  •   to advance the development of national and international relations in the male voice movement.

Under the distinguished presidency of Colonel Edward Bolitho, OBE, Lord -Lieutenant of Cornwall, festivals have been organised biennially since 2003.

It has received Cornwall Council support, regional funding and sponsorship from many individual patrons and commercial interests in Cornwall.

More than 60 male choirs participate in each Festival from across the world, the UK and, of course, Cornwall. In addition to concerts and other public singing activities, the Festival includes symposia, workshops, master classes and tuition sessions for directors and singers. It also features an educational programme involving local schools.

It is organised with the aim of developing greater strength across the male voice movement in a spirit of musical friendship.

Registered Office:  Peat House, Newham Road, Truro. TR1 2DP
Operations Office:  Cornwall Music Service Trust, Truro School, Trennick Lane, Cornwall. TR1 1TH
Company Reg No: 4509936  Charity Reg No: 1099924
President:  Colonel Edward Bolitho, OBE, Lord-Lieutenant of Cornwall
Vice Presidents: 
       Michael Galsworthy, CBE,CVO, DL
       Dr Roy Wales
       David Peters
       Ellen Winser MBE,DL
Chairman:  Bruce Taylor (Director/Trustee)
Vice Chairman:  John Larke MBE (Director/Trustee)
Treasurer:  Richard Robinson (Director/Trustee)
Directors/Trustees: John Burn, Terry Coplin, Robert Ellis, John Houldsworth, Alun Howells, Andrew Lancaster, David Lansdowne, John Pollard, Angela Renshaw, Daphne Skinnard DL, Rob Spowart.

Festival Artistic Director:  Gareth Churcher
Festival Administrator:  Jenny Keymer