Composer's Competition 2012

The winner of the competition was announced on September 14th at a Presentation Evening held at and hosted by Truro and Penwith College. Thirty six entries had been submitted by 31 composers from across the country. For the second competition in succession, the winner, adjudicated by Dr. Alwyn Humphreys MBE, was Patrick J. Lee from West Yorkshire with his composition was "In Flanders Fields". Mr Lee set the words of John McCrae's poem. The £1000 prize was awarded by Festival President, Michael Galsworthy, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Corwnall. (In 2010, Jeffrey Wynn Davies adjudicated Patrick Lee's "Dust" the winning entry).

It is unprecendented in the history of the competition for the same composer to win twice in succession. Generally, entries were of a high standard, though Dr. Humphreys suggested in his adjudication remarks that insufficient care had been taken by some composers to understand both the singing genre as it presents itself today and the layout and harmonic structures of the genre.

Pictured right, Sarah Lee (holding the Harold and Thelma Miller Trophy), flanked by Dr Alwyn Humphreys MBE (right), Festival Director Peter Davies and the composers present at the Presentation Evening on 14th September 2012.

Sadly, because of playing commitments in Yorkshire agreed to prior to the competition Presentaiton Evening being organised, Patrick Lee was unable to attend. Instead, his wife Sarah travelled to Cornwall and received the winning cheque and trophy on his behalf. the picture of Patrick Lee (above) was taken at the Presentation Evening in 2010.

Though sung at the Presentation Evening to Festival sponsors, patrons, other composers and Board members, the world premiere of "In Flanders Fields" will be at the International Gala Concert in the Hall for Corwnall on Saturday 4th May 2013. Music for the composition will be released after its premiere.

Pictured left, Sarah Lee (wife of Patrick J. Lee) receiving the Harold and Thelma Miller Trophy from Michael Galsworthy, Festival President and Vice Lord Lieutenant of Cornwall. 

Participating Composers 2012

Andy Whitfield, Lancs; Brian Jay, Cornwall; Bryan Kesselman, Middx; Daniel Rose-Jones, Cornwall; David Golightly, Co. Durham; Denzil Stephens, Cornwall; Eleanor Levin, Lancashire; Elizabeth Sidebotham, Cornwall; Eunseog Lee, Warwickshire; Gareth Churcher, Cornwall; Gordon Robb, Essex; John Bond Evans, Worcestershire; John King / Tony Tournoff, Cornwall; John S. Yolland, Devon; Laurence John Williamson, Cornwall; Lisa Mears, South Wales; Lydia Jane Pugh, Guensey; Malcolm Sutton, Cornwall; Melody Rowe, Lancs; Oliver Mundy, Cornwall; Patrick J Lee, W Yorks; Paul Ayres, Middlesex; Peter Luing, Cornwall; Philip Talmage, Surrey; Pippa Drumond, Cornwall; Richard Hoyle, Surrey; Robin Benton, Somerset; Simon Arnott, Kent; Stephen Tanner, Devon; Tony Cliff, Cornwall.